Daniel Reid

Executive Director

Daniel Reid oversees the Foundation’s humanities and cultural heritage programs, overall strategy, finances, and operations. Before joining Whiting, Daniel provided strategic consulting to cultural and other nonprofit institutions such as UNESCO, the Gates Foundation, and Illinois Humanities; helped launch the CUNY Institute for Education Policy (now at Johns Hopkins); was an Engagement Manager at McKinsey; and worked as an acquisitions editor at Other Press. A graduate of the University of Virginia and Yale Law School, he serves on the board of the Cypress Hills Child Care Corporation and on Philanthropy New York's Committee on Members.


Courtney Hodell

Director of Literary Programs

Courtney Hodell oversees the Whiting Awards, Creative Nonfiction Grant, and Literary Magazine Prize. She has worked as a book editor for publishers including Viking Penguin, HarperCollins, and Random House, as publishing director at Fourth Estate in the UK, and most recently as an executive editor at Farrar, Straus, and Giroux. Writers she has worked with include Michael Chabon, Edmund de Waal, Rachel Cusk, Abraham Verghese, Mary Karr, William Finnegan, Tina Brown, Annie Proulx, Arthur Miller, Amitav Ghosh, Carol Shields, the Nobel Prize winner Mo Yan, and Wells Tower. Courtney holds a BS from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University.


Katy Einerson

Program Officer

Katy Einerson is a Program Officer for the Literary Magazine Prizes and Creative Nonfiction Grant. She previously served as the Director of Programming at Dixon Place. Katy has a BA in English from the University of Richmond and a Masters in Arts Administration from Baruch College, and serves on the board of the 61 Franklin Street Community Garden.


Adina Applebaum

Program Officer

Adina Applebaum is a Program Officer for the Whiting Award and manages the Foundation's social media. Previously, she was the Development Manager at the Center for Fiction and a Program Associate at the Foundation. She is a graduate of Barnard College. 


Laura Torlaschi

Grants Assistant

Laura Torlaschi provides support for the Foundation's programs. She has worked as a managing and prose editor for various indie and undergraduate literary magazines. Her words can be found in the New York Times's Tiny Love Stories, P'an Ku Literary and Arts Magazine, Tea Literary & Arts Magazine, Rowdy Magazine, and Words on Canvas.

Trustees and Officers

Peter Pennoyer, President
John N. Irwin III, Treasurer
Amanda Foreman
Kumar Mahadeva
Jacob Collins


Magdalena Zavalía, Secretary


Trustees Emeriti

Antonia M. Grumbach
Kate Douglas Torrey