About previous programs for scholars

Past Programs

The Whiting Foundation’s long history of support for humanities scholars includes two previous programs, the Dissertation Fellowship and Teaching Fellowship.

These programs provided critical resources for individual scholars, positioning recipients to advance knowledge and understanding across fields as diverse as classics, history, musicology, anthropology, philosophy, and literary studies.


Dissertation Fellowship

Beginning in 1973, the Whiting Dissertation Fellowship recognized excellence in humanities scholarship by helping to launch the careers of outstanding graduate students. Recipients of the Fellowship, given at Bryn Mawr, the University of Chicago, Columbia, Harvard, Princeton, Stanford, and Yale, have gone on to make important contributions within the academy; in some cases, they have translated their expertise into careers beyond higher education, as curators, composers, arts administrators, and business leaders. The 2014-15 Fellows were the final cohort in this program.


Teaching Fellowship

Between 2001 and 2013, the Whiting Teaching Fellowship was awarded to junior faculty at our partner public and liberal arts colleges: Baruch College, Bates College, Brooklyn College, and Kenyon College. This Fellowship recognized exceptional teaching, providing junior faculty with time and funding to advance their research.

Mrs. Whiting was devoted to the humanities in the broadest sense of the word. She was not only generous in giving them her financial support, but was always ready to volunteer her personal help as well in those fields where she had become a connoisseur. 



First President of the
Whiting Foundation